Permit to carry.jpg

Weapon Permits

Requirements to apply for an Iowa Annual Permit to Acquire Pistols or Revolvers Applicants:

  •  Must be 21 years of age or older.

  •  Must be a resident of Van Buren County.

  •  Must make application in the county where the applicant resides.

  •  Will provide a valid ID or drivers license from the Iowa Department of Transportation.

  •  Applications will be accepted Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm excluding county holidays.

  •  Fees for processing new permits: $25.00 for 5 years. 

  •  Application requires minimum of three (3) working days to process. Approved permits will be mailed to the applicant.

 

Requirements for Iowa Permit to Carry:

  •  Permits can only be issues in the county that you live in.

  •  Applications will be accepted Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm excluding county holidays.

  •  Fees for processing new permits: $50.00. 

  •  You will need to have documentation of required training.  Training has to have been within the last 2 years.

  •  You will need to provide a valid ID or drivers license from the Iowa Department of Transportation.

Renewal Process for Permit to Carry:

  • You have 30 days before and 30 after your expiration date to renew your permit for $25.  Otherwise it's processed as a new permit for $50.

**All Permits are mailed to you from the Iowa Department of Public Safety.  Our office is no longer printing these permits**​

Application Permit to Aquire

Application Permit to Carry

Quick Links

Weapons Permit Law.jpg
FAQ.jpg